AIP-Friendly Goodies – “soft serve” and cake-cookies

So – I like sweet things – like alot, a lot.

I don’t remember EVER having as much of a sweet tooth as I do currently and ever since going Paleo just under a year ago.  I used to crave cheese, carbs – in college I had pasta almost every day!! – but never really sweets.  Sure, I rarely turned them down either, but I literally could not say no to a plate of pasta.  Sweets I could have lived without.

Then things changed.  I could care less about cheese and pasta now – again, SURE, I miss them both from time to time but I don’t long for them.  What I do long for most days is just a simple cookie or two that won’t break my AIP diet, or any baked good really! …..

So, I’ve realized that I experiment the most with AIP dessert recipes and find that I spend most of my lunch hour browsing the AIP dessert section of Pinterest – follow my AIP Board, I post at least one new recipe I want to try almost every day – and Chowstalker’s AIP recipes, and actually get giddy thinking about baking when I get home from work.  I admit that baking with coconut flour is hard and that many of my attempts have fizzled into mostly almost-burnt-to-a-crisp cookies that crumble (and not in a good way) once they’ve cooled.  And since removing eggs and nuts from my diet about 3 weeks ago, baking while sticking to my diet became about 10 times harder.  But for now, I’m taking it as a challenge, not a negative, and have recently come up with two really yummy and easy AIP friendly treats!  I’m still working on the recipes for both, but I didn’t want to wait to share them, so here they are:

Creamy Banana Berry “soft Serve”

IMG_1920 IMG_1921

First of all, sorry for the shadowy pictures – I am no photographer, that’s for sure!

So, this is, like, the easiest thing ever to make – and it’s almost like its simplicity makes it that much more delicious!  I walked around my house eating this creamy and cold dessert going “mmmm” after every bite.  The texture is perfect and the recipe leaves room for SO many different flavor combinations, you’ll never get bored!  It’s best if eaten right away but can be frozen – it will just need to thaw a bit on the counter or more quickly in the microwave to regain its creamy texture.

I used my Nutribullet to make this treat, but a blender or food processor would work just fine.  I’m still currently saving up for a good food processor, so the “‘bullet” was a good second choice.

Ingredients:

  • 2 medium sized frozen bananas cut into chunks
  • at least 3/4 cup of frozen blueberries and/or strawberries, plus a handful to top/mix into your “yogurt” if desired
  • the fat/crème from 1 can full fat coconut milk (I used Taste of Thai which I can find for pretty cheap at my local Walmart)
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla

Directions:

Add all the ingredients into your Nutribullet, blender or food processor and mix/pulse until smooth.  Using the bullet I had to pulse mine a couple times and shake the mixing cup once or twice since the mixture was pretty thick.  If you want a thinner texture add a teaspoon or two of the coconut milk left in the can after scooping out the fat (clear or milky liquid), and if you want a thicker texture, add more banana or try a couple of ice cubes and pulse until well mixed.  The mixture should have the texture of soft serve – hence it’s name!  As you will notice, I didn’t add any additional sweetener, but a little honey, coconut sugar or maple syrup would be nice!!  Once warmer weather is here to stay, i’ll be pouring this mixture into some popsicle molds for a quick treat!

To make something similar to a “Dairy Queen Blizzard” (especially in time for summer!), add some crunch and texture to your “soft serve” with the following diet-appropriate suggestions:

For AIP –

For Regular Paleo (less restrictive than AIP):

Hand-mixed Pumpkin Banana “Cake Cookies”

Displaying image.jpeg

Now THESE little beauties I am proud of – especially because I just threw the ingredients in a bowl and told myself I was going to eat them however they tasted.  Well – I actually ate TOO MANY of them because they were so good…Coconut flour has a lot of inulin fiber which can aggrevate some GI conditions like Ulcaertaive Colitis.  So, just a precaution, limit your self to a couple of these a day, don’t eat the whole batch in one day like I did!  I got carried away…with pride…

Ingredients:

  • 1 medium ripe banana, mashed
  • about 1/3 can of pumpkin puree (I use the Aldi’s brand – no additives and it’s cheap)
  • 4-5 tablespoons of coconut flour
  • 2-3 tablespoons of arrowroot flour
  • 1 and 1/2 tsps. baking soda
  • cinnamon – it’s your call on the amount – I added some into the batter and sprinkled some on top of the cookies before I put them in the over.  I REALLY like cinnamon.
  • 1 to 1 1/2 tsp. vanilla
  • unsweetened shredded coconut (optional)
  • about 1 tbsp coconut oil, softened but not melted
  • 1-2 tbsp. of preferred natural sweetener – I used about a tablespoon of coconut sugar, but maple syrup would work too, you may just need to add more coconut flour to soak up a little more moisture

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 200 degrees F.
  • Mix all ingredients together in one bowl (yep, just one!) I used my hands to mix the batter.  The batter should be on the dry side, a little spongy and should leave no residue on the sides of the bowl. It should be the consistency of – well, cookie dough 🙂
  • Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper
  • Roll dough into balls of about 1″ in size and flatten with fingers to about 1/4″ thick.  Depending on size of cookies, this recipe makes between a dozen and 16 cookies.
  • Bake for 40 -45 minutes, checking every so often that the cookies aren’t burning. My cookies were soft on the inside and fully baked and a little chewy on the outside, and reminded me of cake!
  • Once these cooled, I squirted a little honey on them and they were amazing!

So amazing, I ate too many, kind of defeating the purpose of a sweet “treat” – it was more like a sweet meal.  Still, it was better than eating too many processed cookies.  Just be careful with coconut flour quantity if you have UC.

BUT 2 or 3 of these puppies with a hot cup of black coffee or tea in the morning with a little fruit or (((bacon))) would be the perfect start to any day.

Hope you enjoyed these recipes!  Have any ideas on how to make them better – please let me know!!

 

Yours truly,

-Erika

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

